UNT Libraries Award Research Fellowships

This is an archived news item. Links may no longer be active.

The UNT Libraries have announced the 2015-16 Fellowship Awards from Special Collections and The Portal to Texas History. Winners are invited to spend a week in residence at UNT conducting research, and each are also invited to present a brief overview of their research during their residency as part of a Fellowship Lecture Series.

The winners of the Special Collections Fellowship are:

  • Oliver Burtin, Graduate student in History at Princeton University
    • Title of Project: The American Legion and Veterans’ Politics
  • Laura Forsberg, Ph.D. candidate in English at Harvard University
    • Title of Project: The Victorian Miniature Book
  • William A. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Security Studies at Angelo State University
    • Title of Project: In the Service of Democracy: American Military Service from World War II to the Present

The winners of the Portal to Texas History Fellowship are:

  • Ben Davis, Graduate student in Library and Information Science at the University of North Texas
    • Title of Project: Historic Architecture of Harrison County Texas
  • Evan C. Rothera, Ph.D. candidate in History at Pennsylvania State University
    • Title of Project: “There are in Texas Men who have suffered much”: Reconstruction in the Lone Star State
  • Nakia Parker, Graduate student in History at University of Texas, Austin
    • Title of Project: Life along the Red River: Gender, Slavery, and Emancipation in the Nineteenth-Century Southwest Borderlands

Each fellowship recipient’s lecture will be free and open to the public, and will be placed on the calendar of events at http://www.library.unt.edu.

For more information, contact Mandy Rausch at 940-565-2499 or mandy.rausch@unt.edu.