The Innovative ETD Award 2016 Winner

This is an archived news item. Links may no longer be active.

Jonathan C. Vogt, Master of Fine Arts (MFA) in Printmaking, College of Visual Arts and Design, Department of Studio (May 2015)

Jon Vogt graduated from UNT in 2015 with a Masters of Fine Arts in Printmaking. In his thesis exhibition entitled [Static Bustle: Patterns Achieved through Repetitive Processes][Jonathan C. Vogt, Master of Fine Arts (MFA) in Printmaking, College of Visual Arts and Design, Department of Studio (May 2015)], Jonathan Vogt explores relationships between visual art and sound through experiments with new and traditional media, including sound, video, digital images, prints, and fibers. Through strategic processes of layering and repetition, Jonathan seamlessly unifies this remarkable range of media into an accessible and cohesive vision. Jonathan’s successful use of creative, innovated technologies to enhance the scholarly and popular impact of his thesis, as stated by his nominator and advisor, “surpasses that of all of the graduate students I have encountered in my thirteen-year tenure at CVAD and as professional artist in the discipline-at-large.”

Jonathan’s innovative approach to digital and post-digital technologies began in CVAD’s Fab Lab, where he used a laser engraver to make patterned matrices for a series of hand-pulled prints called Band. He provided a demonstration at The Factory, UNT Libraries’ makerspace, in February 2015. He has since gone on to teach Printmaking at the University of Georgia where he is implementing an electronic equipment checkout area for students and faculty. Jon received a BFA from Iowa State University and a Professional Printer’s Certificate from the Tamarind Institute for Lithography. Jon continues to integrate electronic media into his artwork as he investigates the intersections of sound and visual art. Jon Vogt exhibits nationally and has been awarded numerous merits for his achievements.

We are pleased to present the 2016 UNT Innovative ETD award to Jonathan C. Vogt.

About the Innovative ETD Award