Guided Instructions: Create Records for Photographs

This page refers to records for photographs, which may include:

• images captured on film as negatives or positives (slides, transparencies)

• images printed from negatives on paper

• image files captured by a digital camera

• photographic images captured on metal (tintypes)

• photographic images captured on glass as negatives (glass plates) or positives (ambrotypes)

• images printed on paper and affixed to a mat or paper (such as a scrapbook page) when the photograph(s) are the primary content

How to use these instructions:

• This page walks step-by-step through creating a record for a photograph with yes/no questions to guide how an editor should enter information for each field.

• Although it includes quite a bit of detail, there may be specific situations that are not covered (e.g., formatting for unusual names, less common issues, etc.), so there are links to the full guidelines for each field to see more extensive explanations and example values.

• Information should generally based off what you can see on the item that you’re describing, but for some collections there may be other sources of information (e.g., a spreadsheet, finding aid, notes attached to items by donors or researchers, etc.), and should be incorporated appropriately. For example, if a question says “do you know when the photograph was taken” the answer could be “yes” if you have it from a known source, even if the date isn’t written on the item.

• Example values link to public records but not everything in the full metadata will necessarily apply.

• In some cases, it may also help to look for similar items or collections that are already publicly visible.

• Note: If you are not familiar with the UNTL metadata editing system or have not used it recently, it may also help to review some of the other general information such as the page about navigating the system or completing metadata.

Title

Question

Does the photograph have an official title assigned by the photographer?

Yes	No
Choose “Main Title” in the drop-down menu if it is not already marked Enter the official title in the text box using the same capitalization and punctuation as the photographer Note This is extremely uncommon, unless the photograph is an artwork by a professional photographer	Create a title that briefly describes the photograph Enclose the title in [square brackets] to show that it was assigned by the editor and not the photo’s creator Some things that may be helpful to consider when creating a title: When possible, keep details brief (there is a description to provide more information; it should not all be in the title) Titles should be relatively unique to assist search engines with distinguishing between items Try to include some details, especially if there are a number of photos with similar subjects, e.g., the same building from different elevations, portraits of unknown person(s) could include age ranges or noticeable features like a uniform, etc. Include name(s) in titles unless there are a lot of them (i.e., one or two known people rather than 20) If there are multiple photos that are all nearly the same (e.g., a series of portraits or event photos taken in succession), the same title may be used with numerals designating #1, #2, etc., but other identifying features or differences should be considered first When adding dates to titles, e.g., when there are multiple images from different years for a school class, or a building, etc., it may be useful to not put the dates at the start of the title for sorting purposes
Examples of what these values might look like:
Wrangling a Colt Exterior of the Front of a House in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma	[Close-Up Detail of Ox in Sodbuster] [A&M Cadets in Formation]

Question

Does the photograph belong to an archival series?

Yes	No
Use the “+” to add a title entry and choose “Series Title” from the drop-down menu Enter the series title in the text box; it must be the same in every record belonging to the series Note It is uncommon to have multiple titles for photographs unless they are part of archival collections	Continue to the next field.
Examples of what these values might look like:
Catherine Parker Collection Molly Behannon Collection

• More title guidelines

Creator

Question

Is there a photographer name on the item, or do you know who took the photo?

Yes	No
Enter the name of the photographer in the creator text box; invert personal names (last, first) Choose the type: Personal (specific individual photographer) or Organization (photography studio) Choose “Photographer” as the role in the second drop-down menu Note In some less-common situations, a photograph may have been taken under the auspices of a known organization by an un-named “staff photographer.” If that applies, list the known entity as the organizational creator and add “Staff photographer” in the info text box at the bottom of the field	Skip the creator field. Use the “x” if there are placeholder values to clear the entire entry.
Examples of what these values might look like:
Thurman Studio Conniff, Dennis E., III Texas. Department of Transportation. (for Staff photographer)

• More creator guidelines

Contributor

Question

Is there another person or organization directly related to the item? For example:

• someone who donated the physical item to the partner institution

• someone who currently owns the photo, other than the partner institution

• a person or organization that printed a photo other than the photographer (generally not used for commercial entities like “Kodak”)

Yes	No
Enter the name in the contributor text box; invert personal names (last, first) Choose the type: Personal or Organization Choose the most appropriate role, such as “Donor” or “Printer” from the second drop-down menu If there are multiple contributors (e.g., a photograph donated by a married couple), use the “+” at the bottom of the field to add a new entry so that each person is entered separately; name, type, and role must be added for each Note This is not particularly common, and tends to be applicable for specific collections Warning A name can only be listed once total in creator AND contributor, even if a person or organization has multiple roles (e.g., photographer and donor) – i.e., a contributor name cannot be repeated and a creator cannot also be listed as a contributor	Skip the contributor field. Use the “x” if there are placeholder values to clear the entire entry.
Examples of what these values might look like:
Danevang Lutheran Church (donor) Hatch, Carol Kirkham (owner)

Question

Does the content of the image contain an artwork, building, or item for which the creator is known & important?

Yes	No
Enter the name in the contributor text box; invert personal names (last, first) Choose the type: Personal or Organization Choose the most appropriate role, such as “Architect,” “Artist,” “Sculptor,” etc. from the second drop-down menu Note This is also not common and generally used specifically when architecture or artworks are the primary content	Skip the contributor field.
Examples of what these values might look like:
Jiménez, Luis Alfonso, Jr. (sculptor) Giesecke, Kuehne and Brooks (architects) Kahlo, Frida (artist)

• More contributor guidelines

Publisher

Question

Was the photograph formally published?

Yes	No
Enter the name in the publisher text box; personal names are not inverted in this field Add the location, if known – this may be a general place like “United States” or “Texas” rather than a city Note This field almost never applies to photographs, but may be relevant for advertising or promotional images released by government agencies, corporations, etc.	Skip the publisher field.
Examples of what these values might look like:
KXAS-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.) Texas. Department of Agriculture.

• More publisher guidelines

Date

Question

Do you know when the photograph was taken?

Yes	No
Choose “Creation” as the type from the drop-down menu Enter the date using YYYY-DD-MM format for any part that is known (may be just a year or month) More complex dates that are common for photos: Approximate/circa dates: add a ~ at the end Tildes can also be used in an inclusive range for “ca. year-year”: YYYY~/YYYY~ A known decade: replace the last digit with “X” A photo taken during a known range, such as the dates of an event: use “one of a set” notation with periods for a range [YYYY-MM-DD..YYYY-MM-DD] (between first date and second date, inclusive) A photo taken on one of several dates (e.g., Christmastime either YYYY or YYYY): use “one of a set” notation with commas [YYYY-MM-DD,YYYY-MM-DD] (either first date or second date) For born-digital photos, you might know the exact time a photo was taken and you can add the timestamp: YYYY-MM-DDT00:00:00 Note There is one special case: if the photo is a copy photo or reproduction, the creation date should be when that item was made, not the original (which will be reflected as content/coverage) Warning Dates must conform to the ISO Extended Date/Time Format (ETDF) standard; a warning will display on the right side of the edit screen if a non-valid date is entered to alert the editor that there is a problem	Skip the date field. Use the “x” if there are placeholder values to clear the entire entry. Note This will automatically display publicly as “Creation Date: Unknown”
Examples of what these values might look like:
[1979-08-02..1979-08-05] 1976-05 2019-09-26T22:11:10 1955~

• More date guidelines

Language

Question

Is there any language visible in the image or written on the photograph?

Yes	No
For any text visible in the image (e.g., signs) or written on the back, choose the appropriate language from the drop-down menu Add multiple entries if there is more than one language	Choose “No Language” from the drop-down menu. Note Names are not considered “language” so if the only text is names – e.g., identifying persons in the image or pictured signage with store names – choose “No Language”
Examples of what these values might look like:
English French	No Language No Language (names only)

• More language guidelines

Description

Content Description

• The content description is required; it is based on looking at the photo and describing what is visible in the image

• Generally the description should not repeat information from other parts of the record (e.g., creator, creation date) and should provide more detail than the title

• The description should focus on what is in the image rather than context or assumptions about what might be happening

• There will generally be a placeholder entry labeled “content description” in the record

Step 1. Start with “Photograph of”

• We do this to help orient users when they view a list of search results and to provide more context when metadata is harvested to other locations (like DPLA)

• When applicable, this could be modified slightly, e.g., “Portrait of” / “Aerial photograph of” / etc.

Step 2. Describe anything of significance in the image, usually around 1-3 sentences, for example:

• Are there people or animals in the image?

  • Do you know names and/or identities (e.g., pictured from left to right)?

  • What are the people or animals doing in the image?

  • If it is a portrait (usually taken in a studio), how is the person posing and are they fully visible?

• Are there buildings in the image?

  • What kind of building is it (school building, store, house, etc.)?

  • Is the name or address of the building known?

  • Are there distinguishing features?

• Was the photo taken inside or outside? At a particular angle, looking up or down?

• Is there anything taking up a large amount of space (e.g., left/right side of the image, foreground/background, etc.)?

  • It is generally helpful to mainly describe anything that is the focus of the image, but most of the time there should also be at least a brief mention of anything else (e.g., something partially visible on one side of the photo, something in the background, etc.)

  • What else is visible around the people, buildings, etc.?

Step 3. When relevant, it may also be helpful to include additional information on the item, such as a handwritten note on the back

• This information may also be appropriate in a display note, especially if the description is already long

• It is not necessary to incorporate information in the description and repeat it as quoted text

Note

Remember that contextual information generally belongs in a note, unless it is very brief, for example:

• additional information about how/when a photo was taken

• biographical information about a person in a photo

• details about locations in the image (e.g., when a house was built and its ownership history)

• other related historical information (e.g., about an event happening in the image)

Examples of what these values might look like:

Photograph of a field of dark green vegetation with brush and bushes, taken from a dirt trail or path that is partially visible at the bottom of the image. The field is bordered by thick trees in the background and the sky is filled with light, fluffy clouds. Full-length wedding portrait of the Viertels, standing together in front of a painted background and looking toward the camera. Mr. Viertel (left) is wearing a dark-colored suit with a ribbon on his right lapel, holding his wife’s right hand in his; Mrs. Viertel (right) is wearing an ornate wedding dress with a veil attached to a headdress. Photograph of a Seventh Day Adventist church on the north corner of 17th Street and Avenue M 1/2, looking east. The building has two vaulted gable ends set at a right angle, with the entrance on the interior corner surrounded by a porch and topped by a square tower with a striped, pointed roof. Homes are visible along the north side of Avenue M 1/2 in the background, and cars are parked along the side of the road. Photograph of light-colored calf standing in front of a large black Angus dam in a grassy field. In the background, other cattle are grazing and calves are resting on the ground. Typed on the bottom margin is, “Commercial Angus Dam with Typical 1/2 Blood Beefalo Heifer (120 Day Old).” Photograph of watermelons growing on the ground in a large open field of Minco silt loam (7m-A). Near the center of the image, a man is driving a tractor attached to a flat-bed where another man is riding and two other men are walking next to and far ahead of the tractor. Trees are visible in the far distance and scrubby plants are growing along the edge of the field in the lower-left corner of the image. Copy portrait of Bess Scrivner Lewis seated with her hands clasped in her lap, wearing a dark-colored, sleeveless dress that has decorative rings on the left side. Photograph of a shirtless soldier leaning against the stair railing on the front porch of a military camp cabin, with a screen door partially visible at right. Handwritten on back: “Blazewisky from L. I.”

• More content description guidelines

Physical Description

• The physical description is not required, but is encouraged and is easy to include at least in part

• There will generally be a placeholder entry labeled “physical description” in the record; details in the placeholder should be checked for the individual photograph and changed (if different) or removed if they cannot be verified (e.g., if dimensions are unknown)

Step 1. List the number of photograph(s)

• This is almost always 1 photograph

• Occasionally there might be more than one photo, e.g., multiple photos printed on or affixed to a page, two daguerreotypes in a case, etc.

Step 2. Add any details about format and color after “ : “

• Is this image any format other than a photo printed on paper? E.g.:

  • negative (on film), positive (slide), glass photonegative (negative on glass)

  • digital

  • daguerreotype (printed on silver-plated copper), tintype (printed on metal)

  • ambrotype (negative on glass in a dark case)

• Is the image color (col.) or black-and-white (b&w)?

Step 3. If known, add dimensions after “ ; “ in h x w using appropriate units

• Is the image a “standard size”? (See the full list.)

  • for prints: 8 x 10 in. / 5 x 7 in. / 4 x 6 in.

  • for negatives: 35 mm. (also applies to slides) / 4 x 5 in. / 6 x 6 cm. / 6 x 9 cm.

  • cabinet cards: 17 x 12 cm. (this is 4.5 x 6.5 in.)

  • cartes de visite: 11 x 7 cm. (this is 4 x 2.5 in.)

  • if it is NOT a standard size, measure total dimensions rounding up to the next whole cm.

  • for born-digital images: h x w px. (pixels)

• Is the image in something (like a frame or folder), or affixed to something (like a page or mat)? If yes:

  • add a comma after initial dimensions and add additional details, such as:

    • on sheet h x w cm.

    • in frame h x w cm.

    • in folder h x w cm., folded to h x w cm.

    • on mat h x w cm.

    • in case h x w cm., folded to h x w cm.

Examples of what these values might look like:

1 photograph : b&w ; 8 x 10 in. (print, standard size) 1 photograph : positive, col. ; 35 mm. (slide) 1 photograph : negative, b&w ; 35 mm. (film negative) 1 photograph : b&w 1 photograph : tintype, b&w ; 4 x 3 cm., in frame 10 x 6 cm. 1 photograph : col. ; 9 x 9 cm., on mat 26 x 31 cm. 1 photograph : digital, col.

• More physical description guidelines

Subject

• At least two (2) subjects of any type are required for every metadata record

• There may be suggested placeholder terms in the record; any terms that are not useful to find that specific photo should be changed or removed

• The use of controlled vocabularies is not required (except UNTL-BS for photos in the Portal and Gateway), but when available they may be helpful in some circumstances outlined below

Keywords & Names

• Keywords can be used for any term that would be helpful to someone searching for this particular photo

• They should be lowercase and plural (unless they are proper names)

• Do not duplicate information from other fields (e.g., creator, coverage place, resource type) or from other subject terms

Examples of what these values might look like:

barbers’ poles Baxter Building lineworkers prickly pear cactus

• More keyword guidelines

• If a person or animal is physically visible in an image and you know their name, add a named person or named animal entry

• When a person is related to the content (e.g., John Smith’s house) but not visible, the name can be a keyword

• Invert personal names (last, first); nicknames may be included in subjects (but not in creator/contributor)

Examples of what these values might look like:
Named Persons Harris, Lowell Larkin (Red) Gilreath, Tonia	Named Animals Snafu Hard Luck Hank

• More named subject guidelines

Other Common Subjects

Question

Will this photograph be visible in The Portal to Texas History or the Gateway to Oklahoma History?

Yes	No
Add at least one term from the University of North Texas Browse Subjects (UNTL-BS) by marking it in the drop- down menu When you click in the text field, a pop-up modal will open so that you can search all valid terms The full list is also available here Generally do not include a “Place” subject unless no other terms apply (the location of the photo will go in coverage) Appropriate terms may be very specific or a general, top-level term, like “People” Note Do not repeat terms to include different parts of the hierarchy, e.g., if Business, Economics and Finance - Transportation - Railroads - Trains is an appropriate term, do not also include “Business, Economics and Finance - Transportation - Railroads” or “Business, Economics and Finance - Transportation”, etc. Note There is a term for “Business, Economics and Finance - Service Industries - Photography” but this ONLY applies when the content of the image is about photography (e.g., a person taking a photograph), not for all photos or photo collections loosely related to the photography industry	If this photo will only be available in the UNT Digital Library, do not include UNTL-BS terms.
Examples of what these values might look like:
Landscape and Nature Architecture - Buildings People - Ethnic Groups - African Americans Agriculture - Farming

• More UNTL-BS guidelines

Question

Is the content related to a famous person, event, or location? or Do you already have relevant LCSH terms available?

Yes	No
There may be appropriate, authorized Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) that could be useful to find the photo Using LCSH terms may help users find some items across collections from multiple places since they are often used in libraries If you want to find/verify that a term is valid, the terms are searchable at <https://id.loc.gov> – make sure you limit results to “Subject Headings” or to “Name Authority” (for proper names)	Do not add LCSH terms.
Examples of what these values might look like:
HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.) Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge (Okla.) Johnson, Lady Bird, 1912-2007 World War, 1939-1945

• More LCSH guidelines

Question

Does a primary part of the content include buildings, sculpture, or artworks? or Is the photograph a particular kind of “view”?

Yes	No
It may be appropriate to include term(s) from the Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus These terms are primarily used in the Digital Collections for broad categories that provide additional information (e.g., buildings that are “commercial buildings” vs. “residential structures”) Note Only the preferred (linked) term is valid	Do not add AAT terms.
Examples of what these values might look like:
sculpture (visual works) aerial views interior views group portraits public buildings (governmental buildings) mural paintings (visual works)

Question

Is the image a particular kind of photograph?

Yes	No
There is a Library of Congress Genre/Form Term (LCGFT) for “Portraits” (when applicable) For other “types” of photos – either physical type (e.g., Cabinet photographs)or type of content (e.g., Night photographs) – there may be appropriate Thesaurus of Graphic Materials (TGM) terms Reminder: only include terms that add information not elsewhere in the record (e.g., not “Photographs”) Note Both LCGFT and TGM also have searchable pop-up modals in the edit system when those options are chosen in the drop-down menu	Do not add LCGFT or TGM terms. Note Some groups choose to use TGM terms to describe the content of photos instead of relying on keywords; this is not an issue so long as the terms are appropriate, TGM terms do not duplicate other subjects, and UNTL-BS terms are also added (when required)
Examples of what these values might look like:
Landscape photographs Panoramic photographs	Cities & towns

Additional Subjects

• For certain collections, other kinds of controlled subjects may be used (Chenhall’s Nomenclature, Homosaurus, Medical Subject Headings, etc.)

• Note that you should not include terms that are inappropriate for the collections or material type, even though they may be available, for example:

  • Library of Congress Medium of Performance Thesaurus: applies to recordings or musical literature (for images of instruments use keywords, AAT, etc.)

  • Legislative Indexing Vocabulary/Legislative Subject Terms: applies to government documents and is used in specific collections

• More subject guidelines

Coverage

Question

Do you know where the photograph was taken?

Yes	No
Choose “Place Name” from the drop-down menu Add the name of the location using the hierarchical formatting (this can be a specific city, like Chicago, or a more general location, like a country) Previously-used locations are in a searchable list that pops up when “Place Name” is chosen; most locations will already be on the list, but you can also use it to find similar locations if you need to add a new place name Places cannot be bodies of water or military installations that are also “populated places” (see full guidelines for questions about specific locations and exceptions) Note A single photo can only have content from one location. If an image may have been taken in multiple possible locations, use a less specific place if there is a common denominator and add a display note with more details.	Do not include a coverage place. Use the “x” if there is a placeholder value to clear the entire entry.
Examples of what these values might look like:
United States - Texas - El Paso County - El Paso United States - Arizona - Yavapai County Germany United States - Washington D.C.

Question

Do you know when the photograph was taken, or a rough time period?

Yes	No
Choose “Coverage Date” from the drop-down menu Add the date of the content for the image The date will almost always be identical to the creation date (i.e., content is captured at the time the photo is taken) unless it is a copy photo (i.e., a photo or reproduction of another photograph, where the older image is the content of a later image) If the photograph will be in The Portal to Texas History, add an entry for “Time Period” and choose the corresponding option (generally “Into Modern Times” if taken after 1939 or “New South” if taken before 1939) Note An appropriate time period can be added even if the exact date is unknown; however, time period is only used for items that will display in the Portal	Do not include a coverage date. Use the “x” if there is a placeholder value to clear the entire entry.
Examples of what these values might look like:
1961-05 Into Modern Times, 1939-Present
1920~ New South, Populism, Progressivism, and the Great Depression, 1877-1939
200X Into Modern Times, 1939-Present

Question

Do you know EXACTLY where the photograph was taken, e.g., an address or landmark?

Yes	No
Choose “Place Point” from the drop-down menu Use the Google map interface to drop a pin marking the vantage point where the photo was taken (or the center of a building for interior images) IF the content encompasses a large area (usually applies to aerial photos), choose “Place Box” and use the Google map to draw a box that matches the area in the image Note Coordinates are automatically entered by the system after a point or box is marked on the map interface	Do not include a coverage place point or box.
Examples of what these values might look like:
north=30.272512; east=-97.742635; northlimit=32.759050; eastlimit=-96.804672; southlimit=32.753781; westlimit=-96.822396;

• More coverage guidelines

Note

Question

Do you have additional information about the item that doesn’t fit elsewhere and would he helpful for public users? For example:

• contextual information about the image content (such as biographical information about a person, previous ownership of a house or history of a store, etc.)

• unclear information or variations that cannot be clarified (such as multiple possible photographers without a known creator, multiple possible locations, etc.)

Yes	No
Add relevant information to the text box It may be appropriate to add different kinds of information in separate entries Use the drop-down menu to mark the note entry “Display” so that it will be publicly visible and searchable for users	Do not include a note.
Examples of what these values might look like:
This photograph was taken for use in the 2007-2008 University of North Texas yearbook, Aerie. The picture was taken for the 92-93 spread about the Women’s North Texas Volleyball team. Additional historical context: The residential neighborhood north of Palestine’s central business district contains a large concentration of late 19th and early 20th century dwellings. This property is among the best-preserved in the neighborhood and is significant because it represents a relatively intact example of a modified L-plan house, a popular building type from around the turn of the century. Alvin W. Standifer and his wife Ethel owned and occupied this house from as early as 1926 until at least 1941. Mr. Standifer was an engineer for the I an GN Railroad during the 1920s; he later worked for Missouri Pacific. Date unknown. Likely 1950s.

Question

Do you have additional information about the item that would be important for administrators or curators? For example:

• notes about information discrepancies or research related to the item

• archival information about the photo’s accession, preservation, physical location, etc.

Yes	No
Add relevant information to the text box It may be appropriate to add different kinds of information in separate entries Use the drop-down menu to mark the note entry “Non-Display” so that it will show up for administrators with editing access but not be publicly visible	Do not include a note.
Examples of what these values might look like:
Creator name based on info online, including photographer homepage [link] Two names were different in partner-entered metadata from the list on the back of the photo: [names]. The photos were taken off a disc left by the former head of Archives. Label on disc read “Archives 2007 Treasures Exhib Files.”

• More note guidelines

Lesser-Used Fields

The rest of the available fields are either rarely used for photographs, or usually pre-populated during upload and rarely changed. Use the links to get additional information and resources when needed. Here is a brief explanation of how the fields are used (and why you likely won’t edit them), along with a series of questions to help you determine if an exception might apply for a specific item:

• primary source - photographs are generally considered primary sources (and this is usually pre-marked)

• source - source generally reflects a parent item if we separate a part (e.g., a map from a report)

• citation - this is mainly used to parse citation components for items published as serials (like journal articles)

• relation - relationships connect two or more items in the Digital Collections when they are related in specific ways

• collection and institution - these fields are pre-set and should not be changed because they are used to provide editing access; you may lose permissions if you change these values

• rights - there is a general, systemwide rights statement in the public interface, so most rights information is only added when there is something explicitly noted for the item

• resource type - generally pre-set to “photograph”

• format - generally pre-set to “image” (format matches resource type)

• identifier - most photographs will be uploaded with the locally-assigned identifier already entered in the identifier field (i.e., the identifier that the partner organization or owner uses to match the digital copy to the physical copy); photographs rarely have additional identifiers

• degree - the degree field is only used for items created at UNT to document the originating college/department

Possible Exceptions

	If YES:	Examples of what these values might look like:
Question Was the photograph taken at/part of an art exhibit?	You may want to add a source value to reference the event or source material Choose the appropriate type of source from the drop-down menu (e.g., exhibition, conference, book, journal, etc.) The source text value does not have strict formatting requirements, but should provide enough information for another user to locate the original item (or any information known) Note If the original source is an item that is also available the Digital Collections, the relation field is likely more appropriate	Young Latino Artists, Mexic-Arte Museum, Austin, Texas, 2000 (exhibition) Church and Synagogue Library Association 39th Annual Conference, Greensboro, North Carolina, 2006 (conference) Gibbs, Warmoth T. President Matthew W. Dogan of Wiley College; a Biography. Marshall: Firmin-Greer, n.d. (book)
Question Was the photograph taken during a conference?
Question Was this photograph originally part of or published in a larger item such as a book, report, newspaper, etc.
Question Is the photo part of a formal archival collection?	For some photographs, a “preferred citation” is included in the citation field as a way to cite the archival collection, generally including the title and identifier code used in a finding aid or similar documentation	Ensemble Theatre records (MS 533), Woodson Research Center, Fondren Library, Rice University Denton Chamber of Commerce Collection (AR0845), University of North Texas Special Collections
Question Do you have multiple similar copies of the photograph captured in the same or different mediums that are all in the Digital Collections?	Add a relation value listing the title and ARK of the other item Relationships are reciprocal, so you will need to add the alternate relation to the second item (with the title and ARK of the first item) Choose the appropriate type of relationship, e.g.: a negative <<has format>> photo print a photo print <<is format of>> negative a photo print <<has version>> a second print made from the same negative (these may be identical, or slightly edited, such as an enlargement) the second print <<is version of>> the first print a photo <<is referenced by>> a text a text <<references>> a photograph	[Dallas Firefighter Class 59 #2], ark:/67531/metapth1339195 (negative, has format) [Dallas Firefighter Class 59 #1], ark:/67531/metapth1339196 (print, is format of)
Question Is there another digital item that references the photograph in its content, such as a letter, article, or other text?
		[Aerial Lift Rescue at a Sky Tram #2], DFFM_2015-03-005, ark:/67531/metapth803903 (print #1) [Aerial Lift Rescue at a Sky Tram #1], DFFM_2015-03-003, ark:/67531/metapth803879 (print #2)
		Cutting Horse Competition Photo Information: Roll 1991_D-110, ark:/67531/metapth244221 (photo negative referenced by text)
Question Did the photographer copyright or assign a Creative Commons (CC) license to the image?	Add any applicable parts: rights license: choose “copyright” or the appropriate CC license from the list rights holder: add the name of the person or organization that holds the copyright rights statement: quote any explicit statement documenting copyright or usage instructions	License: Attribution Statement: Please Credit: USDA–Soil Conservation Service
Question Is there a rights or usage statement on the photo?		License: Copyright Holder: Denton Record-Chronicle
Question Is the photo printed as a postcard?	Change the resource type to “Postcard”	Postcard
Question Is there another identifier associated with the photo that is not in the record, such as a negative or photo number on the photo or container?	Add an identifier entry for each additional number that applies Choose the appropriate label – generally this would be “Accession or Local Control No.” which is used for any uncontrolled or standardized identifier	Negative# 38 Okla-5376

Completing the Record

• Double-check the right side of the screen:

  • Are there any field counts in red? (These are required fields that have missing values.)

  • Are there any warning messages? (Check any fields that need review, resolve any issues for dates, subjects, etc.)

• Clicking the “Publish” button will save any changes you have made to the record

• Most of the time you should mark the record “visible” if all information has been entered, to make the record public

• If you need to come back to a record later, you can leave the record hidden and publish changes to save the current version