Friends of the UNT Libraries

Since its inception in 1981, the Friends of the UNT Libraries has contributed monies for the purchase of books, manuscripts, maps, and other materials that the University Libraries could not otherwise afford. These purchases have supported the development of the Collections.

The Friends organization also supports preservation and exhibit activities, underwrites the “Student Assistant of Distinction” Award, as well as giving much time and effort to publicizing the fine research collections of the UNT Libraries.


During the year the members of the Friends enjoy a varied schedule of activities such as receptions and poetry readings, as well as an annual spring banquet. This gala event includes a well-known speaker, UNT Faculty Publication recognition, and the annual business meeting.

Also of particular note has been the establishment of a series of workshops, covering such subjects as preservation and evaluation of books.


The Friends of the UNT Libraries was established in 1981 as an independent, non-profit, fund-raising group under the aegis of the University of North Texas. All donations are tax-deductible and support the collections of the Libraries and the activities of the Friends. An executive board is elected at the annual business meeting and acts as an advisory group to the Dean of Libraries. The Friends of the Library governance documents are available for public viewing. To learn more, please see the Friend’s Constitution and the Operating Guidelines.


The Friends organization welcomes anyone interested in books and in the continued excellence of the University of North Texas Libraries.

In addition to invitations to special openings and other events, Christmas cards, and other appropriate publications. Friends also enjoy library borrowing privileges.

Further information may be obtained by calling 940-369-8740.

Become a member of the Friends of the UNT Libraries. Note: The membership application will load after a short while.


To assure a continuing source of funds for the purchase of materials for the Rare Book and Texana Collections, the Friends established a General Endowment Fund in 1991. Only part of the interest earned is used for purchases, while the rest is reinvested in the endowment. Two memorial endowments have also been established. The Pat Warde Endowment Fund supports the Pat Warde Memorial Collection of Southern Letters. The Porter-Evans Texana Collection Fund is dedicated to the enrichment and preservation of the Texana Collection. Both of these Funds, through planning and reinvestment, will provide continuous support for the growth of the UNT Libraries as a major research institution.

Inquiries about donations: 940-369-8740.

General Endowment Fund

The General Endowment Fund helps to purchase rare books that the Libraries could not otherwise afford. Focuses include both 18th century literature and culture for the Rare Book Collection, and children’s books for the Weaver Collection. The fund also supports the preservation of rare materials and the mounting of regular exhibits throughout the year.

Martha Anna Olsen Memorial Endowment

This endowment was established to increase the Rare Book Room’s holdings in European Studies.

Pat Warde Memorial Collection of Southern Letters

This endowment is used to collect first editions by southern women writers and accompanying research materials. Authors include Eudora Welty, Katherine Anne Porter, and Flannery O’Connor.

Porter-Evans Texana Collection Fund

The Porter-Evans Fund helps to purchase rare books on Texas for the Texana Collection. A portion of the endowment is used specifically to acquire books on Texas ranching.

Vann Victorian Endowment

This endowment was established to fund the acquisition of important British fiction works of the Victorian era.



  • President: Anne Schoolfield
  • Vice President: Jean Keller
  • Vice President for Finance: Salty Rishel
  • Secretary: Kevin Yanowski
  • Immediate Past President: George Mitchell


  • Jean Keller
  • Kate Lynass
  • Ann Macmillan
  • George Mitchell
  • Brandon Morton
  • Salty Rishel
  • John (Haj) Ross
  • Rollie Schafer
  • Anne Schoolfield
  • Jenne Turner
  • Kevin Yanowski
  • Shaun Treat
  • Koji Fuse
  • James Mueller
  • Diana Mason